Frequently Asked Questions

The NearlyFreeSpeech.NET FAQ (*)

Our Service (*)

What is adjunct access?

What is the fine print on the "two cents" free trial?

What is a resource accounting unit?

What is an alternate emergency contact?

How exactly are storage charges calculated?

Will bandwidth charges apply to my ssh usage?

How do I set up HTTPS (TLS) for my web site?

What is resource billing?

What are the default directories created when I set up a new site?

How do I transfer something to another member?

The IP addresses listed for my site have changed since I last looked. Should I be concerned?

To manage services for multiple entities, should I create multiple memberships or accounts?

How do I cancel my membership?

How did my account get overdrawn?

How can people contribute funds to support my site?

Can I have my member login / member name / site name / MySQL process name changed?

How do I set up TLS using my own key and a third-party certificate?

Why was I warned that my PayPal deposit is nonrefundable?

How come I can't ping/traceroute stuff on your network?

If I want to start my site over, should I delete it and make another with the same name?

How do I sign up my friend for NearlyFreeSpeech.NET?

I tried to change my contact email address but I never got a confirmation email. How do I get another one sent to me?

You forwarded me a DMCA notification affecting my site. Now what?

What is maintenance mode?

Maintenance mode is a way to disable web access to your site while leaving SSH (and FTP, if enabled) access available. It is suitable for use when you need to edit your site, but you don't want people accessing it while you do, for example if you find out you urgently need to apply a security update to a software package you are using for which an exploit is already available, or if you just don't want people accessing the site while you are in the middle of making major changes to it.

If we discover a problem with your site, such as if it is being exploited to send spam due to a vulnerability in software you are running, we will frequently convert your site to maintenance mode to stop the spam outbreak but leave the site accessible to you so you can fix the problem. Once the problem is fixed, you can bring the site back online yourself. (But if we shift your site to maintenance mode, please make sure you solve whatever problem required us to do that before you bring it back online; we have other ways of disabling sites that our members cannot reverse on their own, and we really dislike being forced to use them.)

The message presented when people attempt to access your site is the same one presented if we perform system maintenance that requires us to take your site offline, and can be seen here, so if you need to work on your site discreetly, you do have the option to put it into maintenance mode and blame us.

To tell the difference, check the Site Information page. If it says the site status is "Member Maintenance" then it is under your control. If it says the site status is "System Maintenance" then we are doing something that requires the site to be offline. (Our system is designed to avoid the need to do this in all but a few rare cases.)

To enter or leave Member Maintenance mode, use the relevant link in the "Actions" box on the Site Information page for the site you want to affect. System Maintenance mode is controlled by our system. Your site status will change automatically to this status when such maintenance starts, and change back once the maintenance is complete.

There is a third type of maintenance mode, called "Restricted Maintenance." Most members never encounter this, but when a site has a bad track record of problem behavior (e.g. being hacked to send spam) and the site operator demonstrates unwillingness or inability to resolve the issue, the site will be placed in this mode. There are two ways to get a site out of restricted maintenance: delete it or, if you are a subscription member, open a support issue explaining what you have done to resolve the problem and asking for the site to be reviewed.

How do I transfer something from one account to another on my membership?

Why does my bank's website say you charged my credit card even though your site said the payment(s) failed?

How can multiple people manage services hosted here?

I don't log in to your site all the time. How do I stay up to date on news and announcements?

How do I see what users I have granted adjunct access to my site?

How do I hand over control of hosted services to someone else?

How do I transfer funds between accounts on my membership?

What are the IP addresses of your name servers?

How do I change the contact email address I gave you when I created my membership?

What is unbilled storage?

Why can't I cancel my membership?

How do I get a receipt for a deposit I made?

How do I remove TLS?

Is my website non-production, production, or critical?

What is the "Excess Non-Production Sites" charge?

How can I send funds to another member's account or site?

Is penetration testing of sites hosted here allowed?

What is account sharing?

Do you provide refunds for services already rendered?

Since your service is prepaid, how do I know when to add funds?

What do I do if I find a typo or mistake in your documentation?