Frequently Asked Questions

The NearlyFreeSpeech.NET FAQ (*)

Our Service (*)

What is adjunct access?

What is the fine print on the "two cents" free trial?

What is a resource accounting unit?

What is an alternate emergency contact?

How exactly are storage charges calculated?

How do I set up HTTPS (TLS) for my web site?

Will bandwidth charges apply to my ssh usage?

What is resource billing?

What are the default directories created when I set up a new site?

How do I transfer something to another member?

The IP addresses listed for my site have changed since I last looked. Should I be concerned?

To manage services for multiple entities, should I create multiple memberships or accounts?

How do I cancel my membership?

How did my account get overdrawn?

How can people contribute funds to support my site?

Can I have my member login / member name / site name / MySQL process name changed?

How do I set up TLS using my own key and a third-party certificate?

Why was I warned that my PayPal deposit is nonrefundable?

How come I can't ping/traceroute stuff on your network?

If I want to start my site over, should I delete it and make another with the same name?

How do I sign up my friend for NearlyFreeSpeech.NET?

I tried to change my contact email address but I never got a confirmation email. How do I get another one sent to me?

You forwarded me a DMCA notification affecting my site. Now what?

What is maintenance mode?

How do I transfer something from one account to another on my membership?

Why does my bank's website say you charged my credit card even though your site said the payment(s) failed?

How can multiple people manage services hosted here?

I don't log in to your site all the time. How do I stay up to date on news and announcements?

How do I see what users I have granted adjunct access to my site?

How do I hand over control of hosted services to someone else?

How do I transfer funds between accounts on my membership?

What are the IP addresses of your name servers?

How do I change the contact email address I gave you when I created my membership?

What is unbilled storage?

Why can't I cancel my membership?

How do I get a receipt for a deposit I made?

How do I remove TLS?

Is my website non-production, production, or critical?

What is the "Excess Non-Production Sites" charge?

How can I send funds to another member's account or site?

Is penetration testing of sites hosted here allowed?

What is account sharing?

Do you provide refunds for services already rendered?

Since your service is prepaid, how do I know when to add funds?

By default, our system includes two low-balance warnings for each account: one at $5.00 and one at $1.00. When your balance falls below a warning level, an email will be generated to your member contact email address. Once a balance warning has been triggered, it will not trigger again until the balance has exceeded the level of the warning for at least one minute.

Because one size does not fit all, account balance warnings are fully customizable. You can set up as many balance warnings as you want, at any level you want up to your current balance, and configure whether they are sent by email or, if you have set an SMS number on the Profile tab, by both email and SMS.

You can also remove the default warnings if you want, although we strongly recommend against doing so unless and until you add other warnings that you feel better suit your expected usage.

To calculate good intervals for warning levels, we recommend that you review your use of our service after a few months and figure out about how much it is costing per week and per month, then set at least two reminders: one when your remaining balance should last about another month, and one when it should last about another week. Then, we advise that you maintain a balance high enough to keep both warnings active at all times; the second, lower warning should serve as a fallback if you forget about or miss the first one. But this is just a recommendation; you are free to manage your warnings however you want.

As a last-ditch reminder, our system will also contact you by email (and SMS if configured) when your account runs completely out of funds. This message cannot be configured or disabled.

What do I do if I find a typo or mistake in your documentation?