We offer three renewal settings, which can be selected or changed at any time via the Renewal Monitor or the info panel for the domain:
- Automatic Renewal - Your domain will be automatically renewed for an additional year about a week before expiration, as long as you have sufficient funds to do so.
- Manual Renewal - We will send you reminder emails, starting about a week before your domain expires. This is the default setting for all domains.
- Do Not Renew - Your domain will be allowed to expire.
If you select automatic renewal, your domain will automatically renew and you will be charged for the renewal, as long as your account balance is high enough. If your account has insufficient funds to process the renewal our system will keep trying once per day until you disable auto renew, the domain expires and is deleted from our system, or you deposit enough funds for the renewal to succeed. Each time our system attempts to auto-renew a domain, you will receive an email with the results (success or failure). This means you will get daily emails when a domain is about to expire (and for some time afterward) if you do not have enough funds available. Remember that domain renewals are non-refundable, so be sure that you only enable this setting if you are sure you want the domain to auto-renew.
If you select manual renewal, you will receive email reminders, beginning a week prior to your domain's expiration, but since domain registration is so important, we encourage you to have your own reminder, in case ours get lost or misfiled as spam.
If you select not to renew, you may still renew the domain at any time, but it will not automatically renew, nor will you receive any reminder emails. This option is most appropriate for domains that you intend to let expire.
Note that in addition to whatever settings you have with us, ICANN mandates three additional reminder emails be sent; one 30 days before your domain expires, one 7 days before, and one when it expires. There is no way to control or suppress these messages, because ICANN feels they know better than you (or we) what sort of reminders you should be sent about your domains.