As soon as our system records the failure of the domain transfer, you will receive a refund of the transfer cost and you can try the transfer again.
We are not automatically notified of transfer failures, so our system polls for them periodically. It may take an hour or two after the failure for our system to learn about it and process the refund. Between the time when the transfer fails and the time our system is notified of it and processes the refund, your transfer status will report as "deleted."
Please note that if your transfer fails you cannot re-attempt the transfer of that domain name until the refund is issued. Also, you should not re-attempt the transfer until you have understood or resolved the issue that prevented the previous transfer.